Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join the NFH
Sign In

Latest News

The upcoming calendar is currently empty.

Click here to view past events and photos »

NFH Award Nominations

Cabin Community Awards:
Call for NFH Awards Nominations

Do you know someone who gives to the cabin program with their leadership, time and abilities? You know those individuals, the ones devote tremendous time and energy to promote and support the quality of our recreation residence experiences. NFH would like to recognize these outstanding individuals for their contributions!

  We're Asking All of You:
"Who Goes Above & Beyond
in Your Cabin Community?"


Awards Committee Chair


 Doug Gann
NFH President
Washington cabin owner


Don Norton
NFH Awards Committee Chair
New Mexico cabin owner

Doug Gann, NFH President, along with Don Norton, Chair of the NFH Awards Committee and a cabin owner in the Santa Fe National Forest, welcome you to submit a nomination for the annual NFH Awards.
Please consider nominating someone you know for one of the awards as a way to express your thanks. Get others in your tract to join you. Do it today!.

Deadlines: Nominations can be submitted by mail or email and are due by December 31. The NFH Awards Committee will review nominations and make decisions in January. Awards this year will be given based on nominations received; if only 1 or 2 categories receive a nomination, then those will be given at our spring annual conference. 

Click to download the form (.doc or .pdf) with the award description.

Outstanding Tract Association Award:

This Association has fostered good will between permittees and government officials and has promoted a better understanding of the positive role played by permittees. The actions have served as an incentive to the development of innovative and constructive relationships between the permittees and government officials such as USFS, such as partnerships, working on forest plans, tract formation, etc.

Outstanding Volunteer Award:
This award may be presented to someone who has demonstrated outstanding and continued service as a NFH volunteer at the local, state, or national level in a manner that has resulted in a significant impact on or contribution to NFH.  The award is given to volunteers including but not limited to persons who have been or who are now Directors, members of committees or task forces or elected officers of NFH.

James Sauser Recreation Advocate of the Year Award -

This award, supported by the Forest Service, is designed to recognize the personal dedication of those dealing and interacting with recreation residence permittees. The award recognizes individuals who are outstanding examples of those who manage and administer the recreation residence program by nominating them for this award. They will be honored at the NFH annual convention.

Outstanding Communications Award -

This award may be presented to a member tract, a state association or an individual.  The communication should be exemplary, inform and educate cabin users about current issues.  Most importantly, the communication should foster a sense of community and cooperation, encouraging members to work together to enhance the forest environment.

Bob Ervin Outstanding Leadership Award -

Active involvement, awareness of current trends, working effectively with others, and utilizing problem solving abilities characterize the leadership which this award recognizes in accomplishing the NFH Mission Statement:  “National Forest Homeowners is a member-directed organization representing cabin owner recreation residence permittees on our national forests. NFH provides leadership, member information and assistance and advocacy for continuation of all recreation residence cabins.  It is dedicated to educating its members and others in sound science stewardship of our national forests.”

Your participation is invited and sincerely appreciated.  We look forward to hearing from you!

Don Norton, NFH Awards Committee Chair

If any questions, please email me at

Word doc